I, Robot   1 comment

We started I, Robot this week in class.  As I read the introduction, a couple of lines stood out to me.  One is on page 3.  On this page Dr. Calvin asks the narrator how old he is.  To his reply of thirty-two, the doctor says, “Then you don’t remember a world without robots.”  I thought this was really interesting because this is very true in the new generation of children.  They were born into a world filled with technology.  They don’t know what it’s like not to have it.  The two girls that I babysit during the summer are amazing with technology.  The oldest can play the wii very well, and she also understands how to play all of the games on my iPhone.  The youngest one, who can’t read, can play most of the games, too.  She can even open the games and start them without knowing what any of the buttons say.  It amazes me how fast kids pick up on technology.  They don’t even need to be taught how to use computers or phones or games.  All they really need is practice.

Some people think that too much technology is bad for children.  I think it’s wonderful.  Kids use games to learn several things.  I used to play school related computer games all summer.  I played a typing game one summer, and that has helped me immensely when it comes to school work.  The only way too much technology can be bad is if you substitute sitting and playing video games for physical activity.  As long as you have a healthy balance between the two, I see nothing wrong with kids becoming obsessed with technology.

    

The other line that stood out to me was still in the introduction on page 3 as well.  There is a section that talks about how all of the robots are human-made.  It also says that machines were not meant to take the jobs of humans.  I agree with this to some extent.  I think that there are some jobs that machines should not do, such as surgery or teaching, but the machines that people make for factories are pretty incredible.  Someone still has to design the machines and maintain them, so the jobs are not all replaced.  Machines just make life easier.  I love the show How It’s Made.  I think it is really interesting, and I love to watch it.  I have a lot of respect for the people that design those machines.  They are geniuses.

http://science.discovery.com/videos/how-its-made-playing-cards.html

(This is a short video on how playing cards are made, in case you are interested.)

I also used to love the section on Mr. Rogers where he shows you how things are made.  My favorite episode was the one about crayons.  I have always found the “behind the scenes” work to be fascinating.

   

Posted November 6, 2011 by heffner14 in Uncategorized

One response to “I, Robot

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I thought quite a bit about that line too, and when I read it, I thought that idea was kind of sad. I’ve always sort of disliked computers and cutting edge technology, because I have no idea how to fix it. Growing up on a farm, I was used to working on every piece of equipment we owned, and understanding how all of it worked. My dad didn’t know anything about computer programming though, so neither of us ever learned how to troubleshoot computers, so I think I’ve always been a little afraid of them in a way. I think it’s really interesting that the kids you babysit learn how to play games quicker than they learn to read. It’s strange to think how kids only ten years younger than we are will remember a world with so much more technology.

Leave a Reply

